favorite this post Strawbs- Early Strawbs (Strawbs LP + Dragonfly LP) 2 LPs IMPORT - $20 (Kihei) hide this posting unhide

condition: excellent
media type: vinyl

more ads by this user

A 2LP back to back release for the Strawbs first two albums in Canada . The albums were released with a side of Dragonfly and a side of Strawbs on each - presumably so you could play the whole thing on one of those Dansette-type multiplayer record players (which dropped one record onto another! - so who would treat a hard to find Strawbs album that badly ... ?)

Strawbs LP:
The Strawbs had done an album with Sandy Denny handling many of the vocals, and had also done quite a bit of unreleased recordings prior to 1969's Strawbs. This is still their first proper album, but their wealth of prior live and studio experience most likely helped make it sound more confident and fully formed than many a debut effort. The group distinguished itself among the burgeoning school of British folk-rockers by delivering bittersweet folk-rock with a storytelling flavor. Dave Cousins' songwriting was on the sober and occasionally over-earnest side, but nonetheless the record was strong and alluring enough to immediately establish the Strawbs as one of the better first-generation U.K. folk-rock outfits. Some of these songs had been around for a while, as the presence of some of them on Preserves Uncanned and Sandy Denny + the Strawbs attests. However, the group took big strides from bare-bones folk-rock in the studio by dressing these in arrangements -- sometimes with light recorder, choral backup vocals, and orchestration -- that gave the Elizabethan melodies a pastoral, quasi-classical feel at times, without losing sight of an acoustic base. "The Man Who Called Himself Jesus" and "Where Is This Dream of Your Youth" are among their best and the music's never less than respectable.

Dragonfly was the second album to be released by the Strawbs, though much other material unissued in the late '60s that preceded it has since been made available. Dragonfly was also the only LP the band recorded with cellist Claire Deniz in the lineup. It's a more subdued effort, and not as grave in its mood, Deniz's cello doing much to mellow the sound. Dave Cousins retained his appetite for epics, though, in the ten-minute "The Vision of the Lady of the Lake," which had piano by soon-to-be Strawb Rick Wakeman. When the fuzz guitar unexpectedly piles into the mix a few minutes into the track, joined by strange hissing background noises, it reaches a tense height that the rest of the record doesn't match, though it's an accomplished and pleasingly introspective dawn of '70s British folk-rock.


Sel #-SP9014




Cover-Gatefold cover is VG+ and includes lyrics insert

A1 The Weary Song 3:42
A2 Dragonfly 5:25
A3 I Turned My Face Into The Wind 2:32
A4 Josephine, For Better Or For Worse 3:05
A5 Another Day 2:55
B1 The Man Who Called Himself Jesus 3:41
B2 That Which Once Was Mine 2:48
B3 All The Little Ladies 2:15
B4 Pieces Of 79 And 15 2:56
B5 Tell Me What You See In Me 4:58
B6 Oh ! How She Changed 2:50
C1 'Til The Sun Comes Shining Through 3:25
C2 Young Again 2:45
C3 The Vision Of The Lady Of The Lake 10:32
C4 Close Your Eyes 0:40
D1 Or Am I Dreaming 2:25
D2 Where Is This Dream Of Your Youth 3:04
D3 Poor Jimmy Wilson 2:33
D4 Where Am I ? / I'll Show You Where To Sleep 3:25
D5 The Battle 6:30
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6747712559



best of [?]