favorite this post Flamin' Groovies- Now LP - $10 (Kihei) hide this posting unhide

While it took a long and torturous five years for the Flamin' Groovies to find their way back to an American record deal with Shake Some Action, a year and a half later the band had a follow-up ready, and in many respects the band sounds at once tighter and more relaxed, with some time on the road firming up the rhythm section while giving the songs a bit more room to swing (which wasn't one of the strong suits of the British Invasion bands that provided their aural template). The band lost guitarist James Ferrell during the post-Shake Some Action tour, but former Charlatans picker Mike Wilhelm proved to be a more than simpatico replacement on these sessions, and while leader Cyril Jordan didn't come up with another new song as transcendent as "Shake Some Action," "All I Wanted" comes pretty close. Most of the songs on Flamin' Groovies Now are covers, and all of them are played with love, enthusiasm, and the right period flair (especially the Beatles' "There's a Place," Paul Revere & the Raiders' "Ups and Downs," and "Move It," an early U.K. hit for Cliff Richard). All in all, Flamin' Groovies Now is a terrific-sounding record that captures a fine band when it was in great form.


Sel #-SRK 6059




Cover-VG with price sticker still on original shrink wrap which is taped along the edges. Includes inner picture sleeve with lyrics

A1 I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better 2:24
A2 Between The Lines 4:12
A3 Up's And Down's 3:04
A4 Move It 2:56
A5 Take Me Back 2:47
A6 Reminiscing 2:00
A7 Good Laugh Mun 2:52
B1 Yeah My Baby 3:51
B2 House Of Blue Lights 2:15
B3 Blue Turns To Grey 2:24
B4 Paint It Black 2:57
B5 All I Wanted 2:59
B6 Don't Put Me On 4:06
B7 There's A Place 1:51
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6743374587



best of [?]