reply

Posted:

$1000 Mature, Older Student Urgently Seeking Suitable Living Near UHH! (Hilo)

I'm trying to see if I can find suitable housing off-campus in Hilo near or next to the University of Hawaii in the next couple days. I have to decide what I'm going to do. About whether I'm staying in Hilo (I find suitable housing) or whether I try to come back next year with better planning.

I thought that I could live in the dormitory on campus. There is the advantage that the dormitory is quite close to campus. However, as a 33-year old non-traditional student, I realized quickly that the dormitory is probably not an ideal situation for me. I prefer to live in a house or an apartment where I can find more quiet and privacy to focus on my studies while here. I'm a 4.0 GPA student, so I usually study hard. At the same time I would enjoy exploring the island on the weekend. Without a car though my options for housing are limited, and because I would only study in Hilo until December (or come back next year) it is not worth it to buy a car.

I don't know Hilo very well, as I've only been here for two weeks, but looking at Google Maps.. I think I'm really trying to find a place to live in University Heights, somewhere off of Puainako St. or somewhere else within 5 - 10 minutes walking or a short bike ride away.

The distance to campus is my #1 concern and I need to find somewhere immediately if I'm going to stay for Fall term. My only other concerns for finding a place are I'd like to have quiet and / or older roommates or have the place to myself. It doesn't always have to be silent, but as long as it's quiet in my room for study and sleep then I'm okay. :) I realize that mosquitos are a fact of life in the tropics (even in Hawaii), but I have found some houses in Hilo to be better than others in regards to mosquitos. So my last request is that I am trying to find a place to live not completely devoid of mosquitos necessary, but hopefully find a house / room where there's not too many mosquitos all the time or especially not in the house / room. I lived in SE Asia for many years in my 20's, so I'm used to mosquitos, but still I prefer to find a place with less mosquitos (or preferably not many at all).

I don't smoke. I don't have any pets. I prefer clean and tidy. I generally keep to myself as I'm busy with school and other things, but I am also friendly.

Thanks for reading this and I hope that someone can help me. I am budget-minded, but at this point, I'd definitely pay more to find a place to call home for 3.5 months that's near campus and as described above. Thank you and please contact me as soon as possible if you have or know of a place that might be suitable for me. Mahalo!
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 4650750405

posted:

updated:

email to friend

best of [?]